* Are you satisfied with your current projects, or are you feeling unchallenged?

As I am currently working as an intern at Rowan, I do feel satisfied with my projects.  The work that I am doing is pushing my skills technologically and in terms of writing as well.  It provides me with a creative outlet while I continue my studies, and it also helps me to hone a skill set that I very much expect to use in the future.
* Where do you see yourself a year or two from now?

In a year or two I see myself working in some sort of technology position at a writing business of some sort.  I would like to deal with both writing and technology together, in my ideal situation.  Of course, I don't see how likely this goal is at this point in my career, but it is something that I plan to work toward every day until then.  
* What are your long-term career goals?

In the long term, I would love to secure myself a position as a technology consultant or technology mediator at a writing establishment.  As just about all publications are moving toward the electronic medium, it seems suitable that I be able to assist in that transition.  
* Which books, articles and blogs will help you branch into new territory?

There are countless blogs and online publications that can help me to achieve my goal, if not through information then through example.  The electronic age has practically mandated that publications take their information online, and there has been no shortage of literature documenting this phenomenon.
* Who do you know who may be able to offer you advice on making a transition?

I have been fortunate in my networking to meet numerous individuals that I believe can assist me in transitioning into the professional world.  My internship supervisor, Dr. Kopp, shares many of my creative visions in regard to technology and writing.  Dr. Wolff has also been of great inspiration to me about many related topics, specifically those covered in Writing, Research & Technology.  In addition, my internship predecessor has actually gone on to become the technology consultant for the Courier Post through his talents and networking achieved here at Rowan University.  He has offered me excellent advice, and I know that I could always consult him about my own ability to transition into something professional.



Leave a Reply.