Much like anything else, being a successful author is something that takes time and practice.  Great writing, a tremendous endeavor in and of itself, is only a part of the process.  In fact, getting published has a multitude of considerations, some of which had eluded me until studying these readings.  Though I have not very seriously considered becoming a published author (it takes a special kind of person, no doubt), it seems invaluable to me to understand the processes behind it and to know how the market works.

In “9 First-Sale Mistakes to Avoid” Allen Moira details extensively the process of making one’s first publication sale.  It’s much more than simply selling your work to a publisher.  One must consider the rights they are selling to the publisher, the amount of money to  be received in exchange for those rights, and when to expect receiving the money.  While these might seem like normal considerations for a business transaction, Moira explains that many first-sale authors are too timid or hesitant to pursue these considerations.  I can put myself in this situation and it seems plausible that I would be so very excited at my sale that I might overlook some of the most important bits, such as signing a contract that I don’t fully understand.

The other readings continue, detailing even further considerations such as when an author may resubmit a work that was published, or if an author can submit to multiple publications at a time.  Like anything else, the world of published writing is a market, and I feel much more prepared armed with the answers to these questions.  I imagine before I might have been a doe-eyed, young writer, excited to accept any offer thrown my way and then soon to be taken advantage of.  It even helps to know that there are other means of publication, as outlined in “Bypass Obstacles to Traditional Publication”.  By publishing through online spaces, such as Amazon’s CreateSpace, authors can diminish costs and some risks of the publication industry.  I find it remarkable that the industry has so many intricacies that I never considered before, and I feel much more confident as a writer armed with this knowledge.



Leave a Reply.